About student preview
Student Preview will create you a student account on the course so that the instructor (and some other course roles) can experience the course in the same way a student will.
When student preview mode is on you can view and take part in activities as a student such as:
- Access content
- Submit assignments
- Take tests
- Create blog and discussion posts
- Create journal and wiki entries
- View student tools, such as My Grades and view feedback.
When you exit student preview, and opt to Keep the preview user and data, you can view the activity of your student user such as:
- View how assessments will appear in the grade centre
- View and mark an assessment and activities created by your preview user, and give feedback.
- Add your preview user account to groups so that you can see how group activities and adaptive release rules work for members of a group.
Your student preview user will appear in the course users list and grade centre as:
- instructor_username_previewuser (for example: ijc1b19_previewuser).
Course roles that can use student preview:
- Library staff
- Pre Sessional Instructor
- Teaching Assistant
- Course Builder
Enter student preview mode
- Select the enter student preview icon located on the top right menu bar of your course, near the Edit mode button.
- When Student Preview mode is on, an orange bar will show along the top of the course.
Exit Preview and keep data
- When you have finished select Exit Preview.
- opt to Keep the preview users and all data if you want to view the activities of the preview student with your normal course role.
Further information on preview users
See the external guide for:
- Video guide
- More on your preview user account
- How to delete the preview account and data